Back to the Beginning

Long time no blog, friends.Β It’s crazy to think that I have been here over a month already! I’ve been having a great time and I will tell you all about it, but first we need to go back to the very beginning.

Tuesday, February 9th was the day I had been anxiously waiting for! That morning I packed everything back into my car, left the hotel, and drove to Check-In! Once I arrived, I met up with some girls I had met on Facebook that I was hoping to room with. We checked in and found out that we weren’t going to be all together or even in the same apartment complex, but three of us were placed together in Chatham Square and the other three were placed together in Patterson Court. We were a little bummed that we weren’t going to be closer together, but we’ve all been hanging out a ton anyway so it’s fine.

12705432_10209048471075379_6591822078247070578_n - CopyEmily, Caitlyn, and I were put in a one bedroom apartment (yes, we have a bunk-bed) that is actually plenty roomy for three people. Our carpet is SUPER ugly and our floor-plan is a little funky (you have to go through the bathroom to get to the closet), but it’s starting to feel like home.

At check-in we got our apartment keys, our ID card for our housing complex, and we also found out where we would be working! I am working Merchandise and was placed at Once Upon A Toy in Disney Springs. Emily and Caitlyn are also working Merchandise and one is at Magic Kingdom and the other is at the Boardwalk.

My parents came and helped me move my stuff into my apartment before they had to go to the airport to fly home 😦 Later that day around 1:00 pm, I got on the bus to go to my appointment at Casting!

At Casting we just did some new-hire paperwork, got fingerprinted for our background checks, and got our schedules for training that would start the next week. In true Disney fashion, the building was decorated with some of its beloved characters.

The remainder of the day I just ran some errands and worked on getting my apartment set up. Emily and Caitlyn’s families were in town through Thursday, so I had the apartment all to myself for two nights. On Wednesday, I just ran more errands before and after my Housing Welcome Meeting that I had in the afternoon.

On Thursday, we did some resort hopping! In the morning, we went to the Boardwalk and got some yummy treats at the Boardwalk Bakery. The weather was PERFECT and the Boardwalk was just as beautiful as always πŸ™‚Β IMG_0230

IMG_0333

Later that day, we explored some of the Magic Kingdom resorts that are on the Monorail. We walked around the Grand Floridian and the Contemporary before heading to Port Orleans French Quarter to get some dinner.

IMG_0606

Me, Caitlyn, Emily, Parker, and Rachel on the Monorail. Devan was still with her family

IMG_0334

IMG_0335

When we arrived at POFQ, dinner wasn’t being served yet so we walked around the resort for a bit while we waited. I think I definitely like Port Orleans French Quarter and New Orleans Square at Disneyland more than the actual New Orleans in Louisiana….for obvious reasons. The resort is super cute and laid out in streets like a real city.

Port Orleans French Quarter has boat transportation to Port Orleans Riverside and Disney Springs. Rachel actually left us here and took the boat to go meet some other friends at Disney Springs.IMG_0352For dinner, we ate at the quick-service restaurant in the resort which is called Sassagoula Floatworks & Factory. The ceiling of the dining area looks like a Mardi Gras parade exploded all over it.Β IMG_0342

IMG_0344Our food was actually free because Caitlyn had some Dining Plan credits leftover from when her family was in town. We got basic quick-service food for dinner (chicken nuggets, chicken sandwich, fries, etc.) for dinner but for dessert we got BEIGNETS! The fact that POFQ has beignets was the main reason we went all the way over to this resort in the first place. With a quick-service credit you get a beverage, an entree, and then a dessert. An order of three beignets counted as a dessert credit, so that is of course what we all got! However, they gave us four orders of SIX beignets instead of four orders of three soooo…. we ended up with this many! We ate as much as we could, gave some to random people walking by, and took the rest home to Rachel.IMG_0362After dinner, we did some window shopping at Disney Springs and then watched a movie back at the apartment.

The next day was our last “free” day before we started training so we hit the nearby outlet mall for a couple of hours, went to Disney Springs’ AMC to see How To Be Single, and got dinner at BJ’s. We then headed to bed early because the majority of us had to be at the bus by 6:45 am the next morning for TRADITIONS!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

