A Day in London Town

Hello again friends! I’ve been so busy working and playing that I haven’t had much time to keep you updated on my adventures! We had initially planned to spend the last day before my program at Hollywood Studios with some family that were in town, but they were unable to make it so we decided to go to Universal Studios instead! My awesome parents bought my park ticket so we all could experience the newest portion of the Wizarding World of Harry Potter together. After doing a couple of rides at the front of the park, we traveled through New York and San Francisco to spend the next part of the day in London Town!Β I had a great time chatting with the shrunken head at the Knight Bus. I always enjoy a good pun πŸ™‚IMG_0285

Just like in the books and films, Diagon Alley is hidden within London. The exterior portion looks just like London (I’m told. I’ve never actually been…) and also does a great job of hiding the magic within. Diagon Alley looks EXACTLY like how it does in the movies and really does a great job of capturing the whimsy of the Wizarding World. Everywhere you look there are crazy colors, lopsided buildings, and moving parts!

Overall I really enjoyed Diagon Alley! I got to ride Escape from Gringotts for the first time which was awesome! The inside of the bank looks EXACTLY like the movie! Basically every part of Diagon Alley looks EXACTLY like the movie! I liked the ride a lot but I think I like The Forbidden Journey (in Hogsmeade) a little bit more. Similar to The Forbidden Journey, Escape from Gringotts combines motion-simulator parts with actual ride elements.Β The “roller-coaster bits” of Gringotts were great though and I wish there were more of them. We ate lunch at the Leaky Cauldron where of course I got a Butterbeer πŸ™‚ and then we spent quite a bit of time perusing all of Diagon Alley’s many shops.

Before heading back to the hotel for the night, we did a couple more attractions including the Despicable Me Minion Mayhem which we had never done before! I of course had to take a picture with the giant unicorn plush in the gift shopIMG_20160208_184454

See ya real soon!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

