Campo y Colón

On March 24th, we had another day excursion with ISA called Día del Campo. First, we took the bus to Luján where there is this huge Basilica built in honor of the Virgin of Luján, the patron saint of Argentina. Every year, more than six million people make pilgrimages to the Basilica. It was a Sunday morning when we went and Palm Sunday, so there were tons of people there.

I was walking around, minding my own business, taking pictures when I suddenly got a bucket of holy water to the face, haha.

Also, outside the courtyard was filled with booths and carts selling trinkets and such. I can honestly say that I have never seen so many Catholic related souvenirs before in my life.
Next, we went to a local estancia (ranch) called La Mimosa. We got to roam the grounds and look at all the animals, but we spent most of the day eating. Empanadas, bread, salad, chorizo, blood sausage, chicken, steak, ice cream, pastries, mate, coffee the works. SO YUMMY
Racks and racks of meat in the shack where they were cooking
We also got to enjoy some traditional music, dancing, and sports:

Reminded me of Medieval Times- had to get stick through ring while galloping on their horse. Little boy on pony = gaucho in training 🙂

Another cool thing that I got to do for free with ISA was take a tour of the Teatro Colón (Columbus Theatre). Teatro Colón is the main opera house in Buenos Aires and is acoustically considered to be amongst the five best concert venues in the world. We got to learn about the building and all the drama that went into constructing it. I think they ended up going through three architects before it was finished so the style is very eclectic, but many thought the theatre was haunted because the first two architects died at the same age.
Gold room

 

I’m very proud of this photo I took 🙂

Well that’s it for now. My next posts will all about my crazy trip I took with some friends for Semana Santa.

Nos vemos!
Ryan
Leave a Reply

