Two Weeks

Well… I’ve officially been here for two weeks now. So weird!

I feel like I’m finally starting to get the hang of getting around the city. Wednesday night, I took the bus to Acabar to meet up with some friends to celebrate Abigail’s birthday. Acabar is this really cool bar in Palermo, and the decor is very modge-podgey (or crafty haha). They also have a huge wall of games you can take to your table, so we played Jenga with giant blocks and 4 en Linea (Connect Four). We didn’t stay out too late since everyone had to be up early the next morning either for class or for the visa process. I split a taxi with a friend on the way home, and I was very proud of myself for figuring out how to get there and back.

The group
(photo credit: Abigail)

Thursday morning, half of my group had to meet the ISA staff to complete Step 2 of our student visa process. We had to meet at 7:30 which meant I left my house at 6:30 AM. The place was pretty far away, but even after a bus, 2 subway lines, and a phone call (couldn’t find the stinking building), I made it there on time. Thankfully, the process was pretty painless, and two ISA staff members were there to hold our hands the whole time (couldn’t imagine doing it all on my own).

Two hours later, we were finished and completely famished. Most of us didn’t eat anything before leaving the house at the crack of dawn, and we were seriously craving some classic American breakfast food (which does not exist here. Breakfast here is usually toast, and maybe fruit, with coffee or tea). Paula (an ISA staff member, and my favorite person of the week) directed us to a restaurant called Muu Lecheria in Palermo.

My placemat

Guys, seriously. The things you appreciate so much more when they are hard to come by. The restaurant was diner-themed and it was all light pink and light blue on the inside with big booths and American signs decorating the walls. The waitress even spoke perfect English! We all ordered eggs, bacon, french toast, waffles, pancakes, and even milkshakes. I got a bagel (egg, ham, cheese) which I was convinced did not exist on this continent, and the BEST coffee I’ve had since I’ve been here in a HUGE mug.

I didn’t have my camera with me so….. thanks Google Images

I will most definitely be returning here whenever I need a little taste of home 🙂
In other news…
– I actually have some reading and homework to do for class now which is weird, yet cool. I went to the store yesterday and stocked up on school supplies: spirals, post-it notes, highlighters, pens, the works.
– I saw a dude vomit on the Subte
– Peanut butter costs more than Nutella #onlyinargentina
Again, if you have any specific things you want me to talk about, leave a comment or email me at ryanemilyabroad@gmail.com
Nos vemos!
Ryan
One thought on “Two Weeks

Leave a Reply

