Hay más!

Hello again! I still have some much to tell ahh!

Last Saturday, we had our first excursion to Tigre, and it was nice to get out of the city and have a little change of pace for the day. Tigre is about 20 miles north of Buenos Aires, and the town sits on an island on the Panará Delta. It truly is a river community. Even the supermarket comes by boat. My group took the train to Tigre, then took a boat to this little “beach” where we hung out for a couple of hours. It wasn’t hot enough to swim and there wasn’t much to do besides eat, so we took some pictures on the dock.

Type of boat we took

 

(photo credit: Abigail)
Next, we went to Puerto de Frutos which is now a crafts fair located in the old fruit market by the riverside. We didn’t have much time to look, and it was pretty overwhelming, but it was really cool to see all the things being sold. On our way back into the city, we stopped at a restaurant for some snacks and to take a look at Bs As from a distance. There was a huge grassy area where Argentines were spending their afternoon laying out on blankets or playing soccer.

Pretty view

 

And there’s the city

Probably the most important thing that has happened recently is that I started school on Monday! I am supposed to be studying abroad right? I took a cheesy first day of school picture, you’re welcome Mom 🙂

My beautiful school
 
View from classroom window #vertical campus
Totally not distracting. Oh wait, it is

My class schedule here is SO different than what I’m used to at home!

 
Monday 2:30-5:30 pm
Tuesday 2:30-7:00 pm
Wednesday 2:30-5:30 pm
Thursday 4:00-7:00 pm
Friday     NONE
I’m taking 4 classes in Spanish, one class in English, and all my classes are with other international students (as opposed to taking class with locals). The teaching style is a little different here- a lot more lecturing (no notes/powerpoint) makes it hard to pay attention for 90 minutes straight. One cool thing though is that class materials are cheap. Our “textbooks”/cuadernillos (large spiral bound packets of photocopied papers from many different sources) only cost about $20 USD for each class, and some are even less.
So far, I think my favorite classes are going to be Tango Danza, of course, and Literatura Latinoamericana (Latin American Literature). I’m also taking an Argentine culture class, an Argentine literature class, and a Latin American history class.
That’s it for now. We’ll see how long I’m able to keep this blogging thing up…
Nos vemos!
Ryan
3 thoughts on “Hay más!

  1. Laura says:

    Good to hear from you Ryan! I hope you keep up the blogging. I love to hear what you are doing down there. I'd love for you to do a post on your home life. Like what your host family is like, your room, and are you eating any weird foods. I have some many questions and Randy still thinks you are living in a shack with no electricity or running water. 🙂

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    The whole place is a rain forest, so I'm sure there's running water when it rains. I hear it is autumn there. So are you about 6 months and 3 hours ahead of Dallas time? Does that mean it's football season or futball season? Is Thanksgiving coming up? Can you get American stuff there like french fries? Are all the maps upside down? Does everyone have pet monkeys? Have you seen the Pope around town?

    Ok, don't answer any of those questions. … but really, I'm going to need answers to all those questions when you get back! :–) Enjoy!~
    Randy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

